The Secret of Ella and Micha by: Jessica Sorensen

Standard

I feel bad that I got started with this blog and then had to set it aside for a while. I have been way busy with school, so I have not had time to do much fun reading, but I am setting aside the homework for a few minutes to post a review, which means that it is time for another look back at one of my favorite books!  Today I have The Secret of Ella and Micha by the awesome Jessica Sorensen!

Photo linked to Goodreads

Photo linked to Goodreads

I know the book has a new cover now, but this was the cover when I bought it, and it is the one that shows up first on Goodreads. I am fond of it, so I am using it.

Anyway…

Here is the description on Goodreads:

Ella and Micha have been best friends since they were kids. But one tragic night shatters their friendship and their lives forever.

Ella used to be a rule-breaker with fiery attitude who wore her heart on her sleeve. But she left everything behind when she went to college and transformed into someone that follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. But now it’s summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home.

Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. If Micha tries to tempt the old her back, she knows that it will be hard to resist.

Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else can. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. And he’s determined to bring his best friend, and the girl he loves back, no matter what it takes.

(New Adult Contemporary)
*Mature Content** Recommended for ages 17+ due to sexual situations and language.

And my review:

This book was amazing! I absolutely loved it. It is by far my favorite of all Jessica Sorensen’s books.

Ella and Micha’s relationship felt so real. Sometimes, when the book is about two people who already knew each other, the story can lose something because of the lack of relationship building. This was not the case in this story. Ella and Micha’s relationship had been shattered, and we got to see it build back up.

The struggles that the characters underwent felt believable. Ella has some major issues from her past that she is finally starting to deal with. I am really excited for “The Forever of Ella and Micha,” so I can see her continuing battle with her past. So often, characters struggling with past and family issues come across as whiny and annoying. I did not get that impression from Ella at all. She just seemed real.

And Micha. I loved him. He was such a great character, and he was exactly what Ella needed. He was supportive and let Ella work through things at her own pace. He never tried to force things beyond giving her a slight nudge when she needed it.

Seriously, I loved this book and would definitely recommend it.

5/5 totally blown away and in love stars!

If you are feeling inspired, which you should be, find it on Amazon here.

Leave a Reply

