Caught Up in Us by: Lauren Blakely

Standard

I literally just finished Caught Up in Us by: Lauren Blakely and had to hurry and write this review. Needless to say, I loved it!

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Here is the Goodreads description:

Five years ago, Kat Harper fell into a dizzying summer romance with her brother’s best friend Bryan. It was a mad, crazy love full of kisses all through the night — but he broke her heart and she had to move on.

Five years later, Kat is finishing her graduate degree and building her business as a jewelry designer, when Bryan, head of his own successful company, walks back into her life. Bryan has been assigned to Kat as her new business mentor and the rules are clear. No hanky panky permitted. That works for both of them. Kat needs to grow her business to help her parents; Bryan needs to run a clean operation after his former business partner’s romantic scandal that rocked his firm.

Kat can handle that because she’s totally over him… right? Except, he still makes her laugh. And he remembers all the things she likes. And he’s more handsome now than he was then. Then there’s the spark between them — the simply undeniable chemistry.

Can they resist each other? Or are they willing to risk everything for a second chance at first love?

I loved this book sooo much! I was not 100% sure what to expect when I started, especially since this was Lauren Blakely’s first book, and it can be questionable how the first one goes, especially when they are self-published, but I totally loved it. I might be gushing a bit, but I cannot really help. It really was that good!

Kat Harper designs a jewelry lined called My Favorite Mistakes. Her first inspiration was Bryan, her first love who broke her heart. She wanted to go all Taylor Swift on him, but all she knows how to do is design jewelry, so that is what she does. I love the concept of commemorating “the road not taken” through the charms. That should really be a thing.

Anyway, Kat is a grad student at NYU, where Bryan also attended, and one of her classes is a mentorship program. A NYU graduate who runs a business mentors one of the students. Kat ends of being partnered with Bryan, and things get interesting.

I do not want to go too much into the story because I do not want to give anything else away, but I will say that Bryan is pretty much perfect. He has the whole sexy businessman thing going, which I personally really like, but he also has a creative side which is super hot. The business he runs makes cufflinks, tie clips and money holders out of recycled parts. Cool right? This also draws a parallel to Kat’s charms which is why their partnership makes sense. Anyway, I really, REALLY liked Bryan and want to pull him out of the book and keep him. In fact, I usually do not highlight on my Kindle when I read, but I loved this Bryan quote and had to share it:

“He does care for her… He always cared for her. He always loved her. He’s madly in love with her. She’s his Love, Actually. She’s his Casablanca. She’s the one he’d stop the bus for, the one he’d run through traffic for, the one he’d drive like a crazy man to the airport for and run through the terminal to stop the plane. Her name’s above the title for him. She’s the opening credit and the closing credit. She’s the love of his life.” – Kindle Location 2200

Swoon, right? Yeah, I pretty much melted into a pile of goo at that one.

5/5 totally in love stars

Looking to buy? Find it on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

