Drew + Fable by: Monica Murphy

Standard

Tonight I have a two-for-one review for you! I recently read One Week Girlfriend and Second Chance Boyfriend by the super talented Monica Murphy. I read One Week Girlfriend while I was at the beach and looking for something light, and then when I got home, I saw that Second Chance Boyfriend had been released, so I had to read it too!

*These are both New Adult Contemporary Romances recommended for readers 17+*

First we have One Week Girlfriend:

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Here is the Goodreads description:

Temporary. That one single word best describes my life these last few years. I’m working at a temporary job until I can finally break free. I’m my little brother’s temporary mother since our mom doesn’t give a crap about either of us. And I’m that temporary girl all the guys want to get with because I give it up so easily. According to the rumors, at least.
But now I’m the temporary girlfriend of Drew Callahan, college football legend and all around golden guy. He’s beautiful, sweet—and he’s hiding way more secrets than I am. He’s brought me into this fake life where everyone seems to hate me. And everyone seems to want something from him. The only thing he seems to want though is…

Me.

I don’t know what to believe anymore. All I know is, I think Drew needs me. And I want to be there for him.

Forever.

I really enjoyed the story. Despite touching on some heavy subjects, overall I thought it was a light read, great for the beach!

Fable has a (mostly) undeserved reputation which leads Drew to her for help. He needs someone to bring as a buffer between him and his parents (stepmom) when he goes home for Thanksgiving break. He offers her enough money that she can’t turn him down even though it makes her feel dirty to accept money to pretend to date someone.

Ms. Murphy made a gutsy move with how she chose to shape these characters. Fable was the one that tried to take care of everyone and had the absentee parents. Drew was the one who… well, you’ll see. Anyway, it was definitely different, but I think it 100% paid off.

I guessed most of the major plot twists before they happened, but that did not make them any less dramatic. For a fairly short story, OWG was definitely full of emotion. My only two complaints were that 1) I wish it would have been longer so I could have gotten more details of their week and 2) that it pretty much ended on an evil cliffhanger.

4/5 Stars

Find it on Amazon here.

Ok. So if you haven’t read OWG. Stop here, go read it, and then come back.

Now for Second Chance Boyfriend:

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Here is SCB’s Goodreads description:

Lost. That one single word best describes my life at this very moment. I lost the last games of the season and both my team and my coach blame me. I lost the last two months because I drowned in my own despair like a complete loser. And I lost the only girl who ever mattered because I was afraid being with me would destroy her.

But now I realize how truly lost I am without her. She has become my story…and even though she acts like she’s moved on, I know she still thinks about me just as much as I think about her. She’s beautiful, sweet—and so damn vulnerable, all I want to do is help her. Be there for her.

Love her…

If only I could convince Fable to give me a second chance. Then I wouldn’t feel so lost anymore, and neither would she. We could be found together.

Forever.

Second Chance Boyfriend picks up 2 months after the end of One Week Girlfriend. Fable is heartbroken from Drew’s disappearing act, and Drew thinks that there is no way that Fable will ever speak to him again. He thinks that she mush hate him for what he did.

The story opens with Fable getting approached by Colin. I got really worried for a minute thinking that this was going to be one of those sequels that has an awkward love-triangle thrown in for conflict. I needn’t have worried. Colin offers Fable a job at his fancy restaurant which she accepts because she will make way more money. This leads to her seeing Drew again when he goes to the restaurant with some of the other football players.

SCB was longer and a lot more emotional than OWG. Drew and Fable are forced to not just survive their demons but to finally confront them. I do not want to give away too much and ruin the story, but I will say that I liked that Drew and Fable are a team. They balance each other out and make each other stronger. They do have a few tiffs, but they are not the usual kind I’ve seen in books that are overly dramatic fights that lead to unnecessary breakups. Their arguments actually help them grow.

Overall, this book was a great follow-up to One Week Girlfriend.

5/5 Stars

Find SCB on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

