The Rising by: Kelley Armstrong

Standard

I loved Kelley Armstrong‘s Darkest Powers series (even if I was Team Simon) and loved the first two books in the Darkness Rising series as well, so when I got my copy of The Rising, I couldn’t wait to start reading it.

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Photo Linked to Goodreads

Description from Goodreads:

Things are getting desperate for Maya and her friends. Hunted by the powerful St. Clouds and now a rival Cabal as well, they’re quickly running out of places to hide. And with the whole world thinking they died in a helicopter crash, it’s not like they can just go to the authorities for help.

All they have is the name and number of someone who might be able to give them a few answers. Answers to why they’re so valuable, and why their supernatural powers are getting more and more out of control.

But Maya is unprepared for the truths that await her. And now, like it or not, she’ll have to face down some demons from her past if she ever hopes to move on with her life. Because Maya can’t keep running forever.

Old secrets are revealed and unexpected characters make a surprising return in this stunning conclusion to Kelley Armstrong’s New York Times bestselling Darkness Rising trilogy.

I am very torn about this book. On the one hand, some things were done very well. On the other hand, some things left me feeling unsatisfied.

This book picks up right where the last one left off. Maya, Daniel and Corey are on the run and trying to figure out what to do next. They realize that they are going to need some help because three teenagers, no matter how intelligent and independent, are not going to be able to deal with two huge organizations with near limitless resources. They end up meeting Maya’s twin brother Ash who reminds me a whole lot of Derek personality-wise.

We get the fun of more captures, more running and we get to see Chloe and Co. again. I guess my issue is really in the ending of this book. I would not call this a HEA, but at the same time, the ending was kind of the best they could have hoped for. I would like to see a book/story set some years in the future to see how this ended up playing out.

Also, I was not happy about Maya’s love life. I will admit that in the Darkest Powers trilogy, I fell into the Team Simon minority. I knew that Chloe would end up with Derek, it was obvious, but that didn’t mean I couldn’t cheer for the sweet, charming Simon. In this book, I totally did not see this ending based on the other two books. It became obvious as I read this one, what was going to happen, but I was not a fan. [Redacted for spoiler. To read the review with the spoiler go here.]

Overall, I thought this was a good conclusion. I think the ending made sense for the series. It would have been unrealistic for everyone to just ride off into the sunset, singing show-tunes, but I would like some more answers of later in the characters’ lives.

4/5 Stars

To purchase The Rising from Amazon, go here.

Leave a Reply

