Faking It by: Cora Carmack

Standard

I love it when sequels live up to originals. That was exactly the case with Cora Carmack‘s book Faking It. This was the highly anticipated (at least by me) sequel to her book Losing It, which was both awkward and wonderful. I was definitely looking forward to reading Faking It, and it did not disappoint.

Faking It by Cora CarmackHere is the Goodreads description for Faking It:

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

This book was sooo good! I loved Losing It. It was awkward and wonderful. Faking It was just as wonderful.

The first half of this book kept making me laugh. It is so strange to me to read a book that legitimately makes me laugh. Honestly, I wish it happened more often.Then the second half was more serious and not quite as lighthearted, but it also did not feel like a different book. The two parts blending together seamlessly into a story that had me laughing one minute and feeling the characters’ pain the next.

At first I was not sure what to make of Max. I was wary that she was going to be the usually, annoying tortured artist type. Yes, she was closed-off and struggling, but she was not whiny and irritating like so many heroines.

Cade was such a sweety. I hope he and Bliss are able to salvage some remnant of their friendship because they were the best of friends before Cade thought he wanted more. I think its kind of silly that now that he realized that he was wrong and didn’t that he doesn’t think they could be friends.

My only complaint about this book that comes to mind was that the epilogue did not really answer and questions about the characters’ futures. Both of them were struggling with it, Max with her band and Cade with grad school and what he was actually going to do with his life. I would love to see where life has taken them in a few years. *hint hint*

5/5 Stars

You can find Faking It on Amazon here.

Thanks for visiting my blog! Make sure you go like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter and follow my blog!

Leave a Reply

