The Redemption of Callie and Kayden by: Jessica Sorensen

Standard

I am a big fan of Jessica Sorensen, and especially like her New Adult Contemporary novels, so I had to start reading The Redemption of Callie and Kayden as soon as my pre-order got delivered. The cliffhanger at the end of The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden was killer, and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on the sequel.

The Redemption of Callie and Kayden by Jessica SorensenHere is the Goodreads description:

The dark secret Kayden has kept hidden for years is out. Worse, he’s facing charges for battery. The only way he stands a chance against the charges is if Callie speaks up, something he’ll never ask her to do.

Callie knows Kayden is going back to his dark place and desperately wants to save him. But saving him means admitting her secrets aloud. Callie and Kayden are stronger than they think, especially when they’re together. Together they move forward, face their demons, and finally start to heal from their traumatic pasts.

I have kind of mixed feelings about this book. Before I continue, I should warn you that this will likely be slightly spoilery. I will do my best to keep the spoilers out, but I make no promises. Continue at your own risk.

For starters, I wasn’t totally satisfied with the ending. Sure Callie and Kayden got their “redemption,” but there really was no justice. I looked, and according to Goodreads, Callie and Kayden will be getting one more story after Luke’s, so I am hoping this changes, but for now, I am kind of disappointed. I thought this was supposed to be the resolution of Callie and Kayden’s story, and in my mind, it really wasn’t.

Next, I thought this book kind of glanced over the hard issues. It seemed like most of the book was about them running away rather than dealing with it. In the first book, we saw every gory detail. the book was dealing with heavy stuff, and it didn’t really hold back. This time around, I felt like the whole book was about everything except them dealing with their issues. Looking back, i felt like there was more filler than facing the issues and being real. I guess that was kind of the point. They were working up the courage to face things, but once they did, it was over. i guess the pacing was just kind of off for me.

I am definitely looking forward to Luke’s book. I want to know what is going on in his head. This book gave us just enough to draw me in.

I think Seth is awesome, of course, but I would really like to meet Greyson. They talk about him, but we never really see him. I hope that changes in the future.

Overall, I did enjoy this book, but like I said, the pacing was off for me, and things were not resolved as much as I would have wanted. Hopefully, that will change in the future story.

4 Stars

To buy The Redemption of Callie of Kayden from Amazon go here.

As always, thank you for taking the time to check out my blog! Find me on Facebook, Twitter and follow my blog to keep up with all my reviews!

Leave a Reply

