The Whispering by: L. Filloon

Standard

I am a big fan of L. Filloon‘s Velesi trilogy. I found The Drifting among the indie book on Amazon, and it was definitely a gem. When the last book in the trilogy, The Whispering, was released, I had to one-click it immediately.

The Whispering by L FilloonHere is the description from Goodreads:

Tharin and Lily find themselves back in Pathen in search of Julia and the key to Eirrell, but old foes and new ones are in close pursuit. Adding to their plight, all doorways to Velesi have been closed.

Forced to discover a way back to their realm, the group finds help from new friends and those who once stood against them are now allies. To make matters worse, a betrayal causes the door to the UnderRealm to open, allowing demons and monsters once imprisoned to roam the realm freely.

Time is of the essence as there are only two Ancients left while Ka grows weaker, struggling to hold the realm together. It is up to Tharin and Lily to find the doorway to Eirrell, call the Unnamed Sidhe and save Velesi.

Journey back to Velesi and join Tharin, Lily, Tolan, Julia, Alorn, Mellis, Ziri and Cessa to save the realm and maybe have a wedding…or two, but then again, it is Velesi, so…maybe not

This was a good end to the Velesi trilogy. However, I think some things could have been improved upon, and some things confused me.

This book did a good job of catching me back up with the story. It has been quite a while since I read the Drifting, but this book caught me back to what was going on fairly quickly. That being said, some of the names were still really confusing to me. So many people had close names, that I felt like I needed to keep a list going just to keep them all straight. I got confused at times especially since, like I said, it has been a long time since I read the last book, and I have read lots of other things since then.

I really liked Lily in this book. She has totally come into herself and is finding her voice and her place among the Sidhe. I thought it was strange how she just kind of went along with the idea that she needed to go to a faerie realm and marry a prince, but now we get to see her actually standing up for herself and doing what she sees as best not just what she is told.

I liked that Tharin was learning to not always be 100% in control of everything. Lily brings out a side of him that he didn’t know existed, and it makes him much more relatable and likable.

I was sad about Alorn. I won’t say what about, but he definitely needs a chance at a HEA. And Mellis too. I am looking forward to seeing what kind of trouble those two get in together.

The thing with Dorlan confused me. I never really understood what the story was there. I think it could have been more clearly explained. It was kind of lost in the shuffle with everything else going on. Same with Kallis. I just got really confused with all of the shifting loyalties and trying to figure out who was actually loyal to whom and what was going on some of the time.

I was also confused by the “Dragon Seed” and what exactly that means. Then again, I think the Lily and Tharin were confused about it, too. I am hoping there will be future books following that storyline because I think it could become something exciting.

Overall, I thought this was a good end to Lily and Tharin’s story, but I wish the ending had been stretched out a little more. The final battle and events that followed it were over almost before they started. The whole book was building up to the final conflict that barely lasted any time. That was kind of a disappointment, and I would have liked a little more after it, too. Though that is not as big of a thing since there are plans for more books set in this world. I am definitely looking forward to them.

4 Stars

Go here to buy The Whispering from Amazon.

Thank you so much for reading my review! Please, take a couple seconds to like my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter and/or follow my blog!

Leave a Reply

