Enchanted by: Alethea Kontis

Standard

I hate when I am eager to read a book and it doesn’t live up to my expectations. That definitely happened to me with Enchanted by: Alethea Kontis.

Enchanted by Alethea KontisHere is the description from Goodreads:

It isn’t easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past – and hers?

*Le Sigh* I really need to stop getting pulled in by pretty covers. The pretty cover and the promise of fairy tales drew me. Too bad the inside wasn’t as enchanting as the outside.

For starters, the writing style of this book did absolutely nothing for me. It read like a 14-year-old wrote it for a creative writing project. Maybe I’m just to old at 20, but I read a lot of YA, and this was not up to par. I think this book should be marketed for 12-year-olds not teenagers.

Next, there was way to much going on. I think the author must have taken a book of fairy tales and made it her goal to see how many of them she could fit in this book. I wish I had counted. It was absolutely ridiculous. Mixing a few is fine, but not all of them.

At the same time, I felt like chapters would go by where nothing happened! There was so much focus on trying to get every fairy tale possible in the story that the story itself was forgotten. A lot of story and no plot is a bad combination.

I had no emotional connection to this story either. The characters were in love after the first chapter. There was no buildup, not background to understand the world, no anything. It was awkward.

On top of that, stuff kept happening that made no sense. There was no worldbuilding at all, so random things kept happening. One of the toughest parts of writing fantasy is that the world must have limits to be believable. This world had no limits. Anything could happen when convenient. There was no structure and it made everything unbelievable. Yes, I am aware that this is a fairytale world and none of it could happen anyway, but there is no willing suspension of disbelief without structure and rules.

So yeah. This book did not do it for me. Like I said, maybe 12-year-olds would like it but not really anyone else.

2/5 stars

If you want to take a chance with this book and form your own opinions, you can get from Amazon here.

Thanks for reading my review! Please take a minute to like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, friend/like me on Goodreads and/or follow this Blog. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

