Purity by: Claire Farrell

Standard

It’s always disappointing when the last book in a series doesn’t quite live up to its prequels. This seems to be a problem I run across a lot. Good writers don’t know how to end their stories. Today’s book that did that was Purity by: Claire Farrell, the last book in her Cursed trilogy.

Purity by Claire FarrellHere is the description from Goodreads:

Perdita’s life has gone back to normal in all of the worst ways, while Nathan doesn’t even recognise himself anymore. Still, they’re both trying to make do the best way they know how.

But when they finally catch sight of that flicker of light at the end of the tunnel, Vin plays his final, most deadly, hand.

I started reading this book a long time ago, like back when it was first released. I struggled and, while I knew I wanted to come back and finish it, I gave up for a while.

The first half of the book was tough. It was all angry characters and no communication and Perdita and Nathan both pining away for someone that they didn’t think wanted them anymore. Seriously, one conversation could have eliminated the entire first half of the book. It was kind of depressing and I just wasn’t feeling it.

I was looking for something to read and decided to pick it back up and finish it. Apparently I just needed to read a little farther past where I stopped and the story picked up.

The second half of the book was definitely more interesting, though i still thought it dragged. Things that have been building throughout the whole series finally came to a head, but I just thought the whole thing could have been shortened. It seemed like the author was just stretching out the events until she reached the number of words she wanted and then just told, not showed, us everything that happened after. It went from way over described throughout the whole book to the bare minimum for the end.

I don’t know. I just think this book could have been better. I liked the first two books a lot and this one just wasn’t as good. It wasn’t terrible; it was just kind of disappointing.

3 Stars

To find Purity on Amazon, go here.

Thank you for reading my review! Please take a second to like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, friend/follow me on Goodreads and/or follow this blog!

Leave a Reply

