Damselfly by: S.L. Naeole

Standard

When I first got my Kindle, one of the first Indie authors I discovered was S.L. Naeole. I fell in love with her writing immediately. Her latest book is titled Damselfly, and is the second in her Faeble series.

Here is the Goodreads description:

Damselfly by: S.L. Naeole

She used to be known as the Blithe Baby. Now she’s something more, and that’s not a good thing. 

Seeing the world through new eyes, Sophia Blithe has found love, found hope, and found a life that she never new she would have with Declan Sterling, a Sidhe boy with indigo eyes and magic in his touch. But, she should know by now that life never plays out how you want it to. 

When the new world she knows, and the old world she remembers begins to crumble around her, Sophia will lose almost everything that’s ever mattered to her, and will be forced to make a decision that will forever change the course of not just her life, but also the lives of those she loves the most.

I have rather mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, the story line is unique and extremely suspenseful. It is really not like anything else I have read. On the other hand, I kind of have a hard time cheering for the “happy ending.” I seriously do not see how this series can end well. It is hard to cheer for the main characters when their goal is to save the murderous fairies. So yeah, I have some definite mixed feelings about this book/series.

This book was well-written, if a little long. Ms. Naeole has some serious talent for writing unique stories. I have read most of her stuff and really enjoy her writing. That being said, the Faeble series is not necessarily my favorite. She does not pull any punches in this series, and to me, it gets a little hard to read at points. It can get kind of gruesome and I feel the need to take a step back and disconnect for a while. I would categorize this as Upper YA, and I do not recommend it for younger readers.

I like Dex, though the revelations at the end of the book were heartbreaking. I am seriously anxious for the next book to find out what is going to happen between him and Fee.

I flip-flop on whether I like Fee or not. She definitely has her moments, both good and bad. She has had a rough life and it just seems to keep getting harder. I keep waiting for her to catch some kind of a break, but every time she seems to, the rug gets pulled out from under her feet and the stuff hits the fan even worse than before.

This book left a lot of questions open at the end, and I am looking forward to getting some answers in the next book.

3 Stars

To purchase Damselfly from Amazon, go here.

Thank you for visiting my blog! To keep up with all of my reviews, please like my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter, friend/follow me on Goodreads and/or follow this blog! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

