Four Years Later by: Monica Murphy

Standard

You know what’s the worst? Being super excited for a book to be released only to be disappointed when you actually read it. This happened to me with Four Years Later by: Monica Murphy.

Four Years Later by Monica MurphyHere is the description from Goodreads:

Owen’s story

New Adult bestselling author Monica Murphy winds up her sensational series with this sexy story of two college kids with nothing in common but a bunch of baggage and a burning attraction.

Over. That about sums up everything in my life. Suspended from my college football team and forced to cut back my hours at The District bar because of my crappy grades, I can’t keep turning to my sister, Fable, and her pro-football playing husband, Drew, to bail me out. I just can’t seem to find my own way. Weed and sex are irresistible temptations—and it’s messed up that I secretly hand over money to our junkie mom. A tutor is the last thing I want right now—until I get a look at her.

Chelsea is not my type at all. She’s smart and totally shy. I’m pretty sure she’s even a virgin. But when she gives me the once over with those piercing blue eyes, I’m really over. But in a different way. I won’t deny her ass is killer, but it’s her brain and the way she seems to crave love—like no one’s ever given her any—that make me want her more than any girl I’ve ever met. But what would someone as seemingly together as her ever see in a screwed up guy like me?

This book was a disappointment for me. I didn’t hate it, but I definitely did not love it either. The writing was good, and the characters were well developed, but this book just didn’t do it for me, and it took me a while to figure out why.

Eventually I figured out that it was because I honestly do not think Owen and Chelsea will last. I am just like Chelsea, and I don’t mean that in a “she is so relatable” type of way because honestly, for most people, she is probably not a particularly relatable character, but for me, she was. Skipped a grade? Check. Incredibly socially awkward? Check. Can’t string a sentence together in front of a cute guy? Check. And because I understand her, I don’t think her and Owen will work. In fact, I don’t see the appeal in Owen at all. First of all, he is Fable’s little brother who we first met as a 14 year old, so that’s weird to begin with, and he is supposed to be this dark, sexy, brooding character, but to me, he was just a whiny drug addict who had every opportunity in the world to turn his life around and wasn’t. That’s not to say that he didn’t have his moments, he did, just not enough of them for me to really love his character.

People always say that opposites attract, and that is true up to a point. However, relationships without strong foundations and mutual interests will not last. Owen and Chelsea have absolutely zero in common. At one point one of them, I think it was Chelsea, thought something along the lines of “we only talk about school and flirt and I am falling in love.” If you only talk about the classes you are tutoring him in or flirt with him, do you even know anything about him? What is his favorite food? Favorite color? Favorite TV show? His major? This doesn’t sound like a strong foundation to me, but I could be alone on that one.

The other thing that bothered me was that this book didn’t feel like it ended, more like it was just over. When the last chapter of a book, especially one that is the last book in a series, is “One Year Later,” I expect it to tell me all about what the characters are up to, what they are planning, and give me an overall warm fuzzy feeling about everyone I met during the series. That is not what happened. Instead I got: “We don’t know what we’re doing” and “We’re in love, so we don’t need a plan.” Umm… No. That is not how it works, and there is no way Chelsea would actually be okay with that.

Despite what this rant of negativity would have you believe, I did not hate this book. However, it definitely fell way short for me.

3 Stars

If you want to check this book out for yourself, because honestly I am probably in the minority here, you can find it on Amazon here.

Interested in reading more of reviews? Please, go like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, and/or follow this blog to stay up-to-date with my reviews!

Leave a Reply

