Some Like It Wild by: M. Leighton

Standard

I wonder if I am becoming more critical of books, or if I really am just not liking a lot of what I read as much as I used to? Yesterday, I finished a book by another author that I usually really enjoy, and I was under-impressed. This seems to be a common occurrence lately, and that makes me sad. The latest book to do this to me was Some Like It Wild by: M. Leighton.

Here is the Goodreads description:

Some Like It Wild by M Leighton

First was The Wild Ones. Now, the next book in M. Leighton’s Wild Ones series…

How far will a good girl go for the bad boy she loves?

Laney Holt is a preacher’s daughter. A good girl. Her only goal was to get married, have babies, and live happily ever after, just like her parents. Only that didn’t happen. The two people closest to her betrayed her, and Laney’s dreams came crashing down. Now she’s left with an empty space she doesn’t know how to fill. Until she meets Jake Theopolis, a daredevil with a death wish who has heartbreaker written all over him.

Jake has no interest in thinking beyond the here and now. All he wants out of life is the next rush, the next “feel-good” thing to keep his mind off the pain of his past. His latest rush? Showing Laney there’s more to life than being a good girl—and that going bad can be so much fun. Her only concern now is how she can ever hope to satisfy the wild side of a boy like Jake. She’s looking forward to trying. And so is Jake.

I enjoyed this book well enough, but it did not wow me.

I am really not sure how I feel about Laney and Jake. In some ways, I really liked them together. Laney was really shy and afraid to do anything even remotely naughty. Jake definitely helped to bring her out of her shell and helped her to be more open to new things. However, it bothered me that Jake’s whole motivation at the beginning was “corrupting the preacher’s daughter.” I don’t know, that’s just a little iffy to me. I can understand the appeal in that story line, but I am not really sure what I think about it.

Then there was Jake’s big “secret” and the reason why he refused to get close to someone. I won’t say what it was, but I really don’t think as an adult that he should still be carrying around all that guilt, because he had to know what his dad said wasn’t true. I know things from childhood greatly impact who a person turns into, but he was smart enough to be able to see things differently. And what father would ever say that to their 8-year-old child even if they were heartbroken? That was just despicable.

I did enjoy watching things build between Laney and Jake, and I thought that, by the end, the two of them were really sweet together. I think all of the Shane stuff could have been avoided had Laney just told her parents the truth, but then we wouldn’t have had the plot device needed to bring her and Jake back together, so whatever.

Oh, and Laney’s father, the preacher, was a bit too judgmental, holier-than-thou for my taste. I really think that if anyone would be giving Jake the benefit of the doubt, it should be the town preacher, but he seemed worse than anyone. That kind of bugged me, too.

3.5 Stars

Want to read the book yourself to see what you think? Find it on Amazon here.

I appreciate your taking the time to read my review! Please, take a few seconds to like me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, and/or follow this blog to keep up with my future reviews! Thanks, and happy reading!!!

Leave a Reply

